Main Street Baptist Church
At the corner of Crown Street and East Main
This building was erected and dedicated in 1868. It has undergone numerous renovations. In the mid 1950's the CT
Bank & Trust Company built a branch in front of the church.
This is a scene of Curtis Street looking north from the intersection of Curtis Street and Ann Street.
Meriden Town/City Hall
142 E. Main St.
the original Meriden town hall built in the early 1860's which burned down in 1904. Abraham Lincoln spoke from these steps
while campaigning for the presidency.
This is a picture of Cook Avenue looking south from West Main Street.
A.W. Curtis House
This house was once A.W. Curtis's house.
East Main Street
This is a view of East Main Street looking east up the hill toward the Town Hall.
Central Grammar School
Between Liberty &
The Central Grammar School was located between Liberty and Miller Street and was the former German-American
School. The building was sold to the school district in 1903.
This a scene of Linsley Avenue looking south.
Colony Street & West Main Street
This building was
once a hotel located on the corner of Colony and East Main Street.
Edward Miller House
360 Broad Street
This house was built in 1869,
but burned down in 1934. This site is now the Miller Memorial, a home for the aged.
The building was used as a meeting place for the International Order of Odd Fellows.
O.H. Platt House
130 Lincoln St.
This was the home of Orville Hitcock
Platt, one of only two U.S. Senators from Meriden. This house is now Girls Incorporated.
NW corner of Camp St & Broad Street
house was built in 1873 and was originally called the North End School. Later the name was changed to the Prattsville School.
State Reform School
294 Colony Street
Once used as the Connecticut State Reform School for Boys, the building is now used as the State
Police Special Services & Forsenic Laboratory Complex.
St. Laurent Church
123 Camp Street
The first service held in this church
was in the basement in 1881. The rest of the church was finished and dedicated in 1888. It was organized to minister to the
needs of the many French-Canadian and German Catholics who had worshipped at the Saint Rose Church. The Parochial school behind
the church closed a few years ago and was recently demolished.
St. Rose of Lima Church
25 Center Street
Saint Rose patrons worshipped
in a building on Broad Street until this church on Center Street was finished in 1856. The present edifice was formally consecrated
The Meriden Young Men's Christian Association
dates back to the winter of 1866. This building was finished, furnished, and dedicated in 1877. By 1889, it was considered
the best equipped gymnasium in the city. The Y.M.C.A is now located on W. Main St. and was built in the 1990's. Prior to that
the former Y.M.C.A. was located in the same place and had dormatory rooms above the gym,exercise rooms and